BE STILL AND KNOW

IMG_0773

It’s quiet round here. The road is stretching out in front of me for miles, a silky black ribbon weaving its way through Coolcross and Binnon. In their purple navy attire they roll down towards me as I surmise their stature across the lakes on the mountain road.

I turn towards a quiet country lane and head up the hill. The trees, naked and spindly, are waiting patiently for their new Spring coats. It won’t be long. Before I left I noticed a few new shoots  in my battered back garden. Heedless of the recent storms, they must have slipped up some time last week through the  darkness unnoticed…until today. Sunday. Even the birds are quiet this morning.  Are they contemplating too?

Over short heather and grass I ramp on as the ground rises steeply towards the top of Coolcross. It is well worth it. The view is breath-taking. I find them all standing tall and resting in their Sunday morning splendour, Malin head and Glashedy island to the north, Slieve snacht to the south, Slievekeeragh, Raghtin More and Mamore Head to the south-west, Culdaff and Scotland to the north-east. 

Sunday.  It’s a good day for a hike to feed the soul.

The fruit of silence is prayer,
The fruit of prayer is faith,
The fruit of faith is love, and
The fruit of love is silence.

—Mother Teresa

7 thoughts on “BE STILL AND KNOW

  1. Certainly have missed your posts. I’m so glad you’re back!! :)

  2. Collette says:

    Beautiful x

  3. Collette says:

    Beautiful

  4. That picture mesmerises. I am reminded of that great Beatles number,
    ‘The long and winding road’.

    “The long and winding road that leads to your door
    Will never disappear
    I’ve seen that road before it always leads me here
    Leads me to your door

    The wild and windy night that the rain washed away
    Has left a pool of tears crying for the day
    Why leave me standing here, let me know the way
    Many times I’ve been alone and many times I’ve cried
    Anyway you’ll never know the many ways I’ve tried
    And still they lead me back to the long and winding road
    You left me standing here a long, long time ago
    Don’t leave me waiting here, lead me to you door…”

    Does this resonate with you?

    Shakti

Leave a Reply

