The beauty of letting go

 

This morning, while we were getting ready for the day, little Missy became distracted by the colour of Autumn. Leaning into the window, she counted the leaves that had let go. I stopped for a moment and counted the colours that had set the trees ablaze. She counted the birds. I counted the minutes we had left before leaving. She counted her buttons as she closed each one carefully. I counted my money and lifted my keys. She counted my buttons, my shoes, and her teeth. I counted her smile. We shared hugs and counted our blessings together. In the school grounds we hugged and let go. There is a terrible beauty in letting go. What do you have to let go of? Did you let go today?

Leave a Reply

