A sacred gift

 

“May you experience each day as a sacred gift, woven around the heart of wonder.” John O’Donohue

When I came across an old notebook of mine and it’s pages sprang open, as if by magic, revealing this wonderful quote, I threw back my head and laughed. To be honest, during a particular time in my life there were days I didn’t experience anything but exhaustion, nausea, anxiety, worry and overwhelming grief. As far as I was concerned, John was in a league of his own. He had no worries or troubles like me. Easy for him to greet the morning with a great big grin on his face.

That’s what I thought, the first time I attended one of his seminars. I still bought his books and read them. I couldn’t help myself. That day, many years ago, the gentle giant at the top of the room, seemed to sprinkle some soulful magic over me. His name, John O’Donohue, sounded strong and robust but it was his childlike wonder at everything in life that filled me up and so it was to be. I remember being spellbound by his profound but simple message. The poetic richness of his words drip fed me for years. Alas, they find their way into my consciousness still. I believe they were instrumental in bringing me back to life, and now, they always bring me back to me.

In gratitude, I found a way to enjoy each day by changing my mindset. I still have the worries, the anxiety, the stress, and the grief that I had when I met John O’Donohue, but now I have the courage, and the strength, to look the day in the eye and call out to the new dawn, “Bring it on.” Even when it keeps me waiting in the November darkness, like this morning…I wait…sensing the giddiness of anticipation in my solar plexus just to catch a glimpse of its first light. I am in gratitude.

Each day is a blessing and John O’Donohue left a tremendous legacy behind. His joy still lights me up when I read his words urging us all to live out our lives to the full and receive every day as a sacred gift with open arms and open hearts. May your day be filled with blessings and an open heart.  Aox

Leave a Reply

