Homemade handmade heartmade love

20120213-200417.jpg

 

A crack of light, a clink of glass, the smell of coffee and two gorgeous smiles take me by surprise. It’s not Valentine’s Day but it certainly is a special Valentine breakfast. Big bro’  towers over little Missy. He watches her every move or is he watching the toasted pancakes? She must have him well warned…he doesn’t reach for them. Half his age but in command she steps lightly in her bare feet, careful not to disturb or spill anything.

She is wearing an ‘all grown up look’ while he tosses himself on my bed, full of rascality looking his usual morning cuddles. She throws him a ‘don’t you dare’ look before putting the tray down and wrapping me up in her love. He joins in, knowing, not knowing what all the fuss is about. She is full of stories, how she set her alarm on her DS and sneaked into his room to waken him. I push away silly grown up thoughts and resist interrogating her with daft questions, like, how did you manage to pour the kettle and how did you get the pancakes out of the toaster?

I love the way she shares her secrets with her big brother. I love the way they munch on the pancakes while I read my love letters out loud. I love the way she remembered they would not be with me on Valentine’s Day. I love love when it is homemade, handmade and heartmade.

May you receive some homemade, handmade and heartmade love today and every day. Happy St. Valentine’s Day!

More St Valentine’s Day Musings here and here and here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Homemade handmade heartmade love

  1. Brigitte says:

    Sweet story! Love this: ” I push away silly grown up thoughts and resist interrogating her with daft questions, like, how did you manage to pour the kettle and how did you get the pancakes out of the toaster?”
    Wonderful interpretation of child thoughts and adult ones!

    Look forward to your next post!

  2. kellymcgurk says:

    Beautiful.xo

  3. ailialana says:

    Thanks Brigitte…I can be so terribly grown up…sometimes…

  4. ailialana says:

    Thanks for stopping by Colletty Hugs xox

Leave a Reply

