World Book Day

Today is World Book Day in Ireland and the UK. Little Missy is home with a brand new book and a book voucher. As I type she has taken to the comfort of her room and has started a READaTHON. Soon she will read dozens of books and collect much needed funds for her school library. She is having a pretty exciting day and so am I.

On World Book Day authors and writers get to talk all day about reading and writing. I spent my day with the most coolabulous awe inspiring fifth class pupils in Scoil Iosagain, Buncrana, Co.Donegal. We chatted about what they liked to read and I give them some tips on how to start writing. That was easy. All I had to do was tell them to grab some coolicious pens and notepads and start creating stories with words. The writing is in the doing. They asked a host of other questions including the most common one, “Are you really wealthy?” Of course I had to tell them the true – I am wealthy in words, books and health…you know all the stuff that matters to writers and authors.

The pupils were extremely wealthy too – in reading material and enthusiasm but one of the things that really made my day was the fact all three classes loved the children’s book I am working on at the moment. It’s about a little girl called Gracie who doesn’t like boys until she meets Niall. Their reaction and pin drop silences has encouraged me to get on with it and send it out there so that’s my focus for the next week. Wish me luck!

A big thanks to all the fababrilln’cool 5th class pupils in Scoil Iosagain, Buncrana (keep reading and writing and remember you are amazing!!!) to all the staff who invited me and thanked me a zillion times for doing what I love to do. Now I have to wait for a whole year before World Book Day comes round again….Maybe I will have my first children’s book published by then. Happy Days!

Want to read a little more about my day and how I developed my love for reading? The magic of books published in the Inishowen Independent today will fill you in.

5 thoughts on “World Book Day

  1. kewsmith says:

    Good luck with the children’s book!

  2. Margaret says:

    Good luck with all your writting Aileen and i have no doubt you will publish again soon angel blessings for the journey, you are amazing oxox

  3. ailialana says:

    Thank you so much!

  4. ailialana says:

    and YOU are amazing…thank you for checking in x

Leave a Reply

