Thread lightly as I weave my dreams

20120518-000650.jpg

Every dream is as precious as a child's drawing in the sand. Mindfully, it is created with great deliberation and care, taking shape in an area of our minds where we don't want anyone to thread or trample on our plan or our drawing. We want it to become part of out reality. We want it to come alive and stay alive as long as we can protect it, as long as nature allows. Sometimes the dream does come true. Sometimes it fades. Sometimes the turning tide erodes our best efforts, wiping the slate clean but it always invites us to start again, to dream a new dream no matter how many times the tide turns. That's were nature differs from a human footprint. A footprint leaves a mark, a smudge, an imprint that can crush a carefully woven dream. Dreams are delicate. Ring fence your dreams and in your mind's eye put up a sign No Trespassing. I shall conclude this post with the thought-provoking words of Cloths of Heaven by William Butler Yeats that defines how delicate and precious our dreams are to each and every one of us and as illusive as the sands of time.

Cloths of Heaven

Had I the heavens' embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

W.B. Yeats.

8 thoughts on “Thread lightly as I weave my dreams

  1. emeralds82 says:

    I love that poem.

  2. Jeannie says:

    a beautiful post and so very true.

  3. I love, love, love this post. 🙂 Ah, so beautiful. 🙂

  4. ailialana says:

    …as are the many dreams you are weaving Ameliaclaire. Hope all is going according to plan. Aox

  5. Silverfox says:

    A very beautiful analogy!

  6. Martine says:

    Such beautiful words. I am now pondering my reality….

  7. ailialana says:

    Ah Martine it is a wonderful thing to ponder on. Must check out your blog soon.Thank you for visiting and following.

  8. Martine says:

    You’re most welcome Ailialana. I always love a good read. Have a terrific day and be well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

