Home in the Inishowen Peninsula

20120510-113734.jpg

This road is twenty minutes from my home. When you turn the corner [in the photograph] the road leads to a car park overlooking the rugged beauty of Inishowen in all its splendour.  I love this road because when I am heading down this path I am on my way to yoga, perhaps a picnic, maybe a refreshing walk or hike in the fresh air of Inishowen. Sometimes I am going to an art exhibition or taking visitors to the Fort Dunree Millitary Museum and to the fascinating wildlife displays.

Fort Dunree is proudly perched high above the edge of Lough Swilly commanding a majestic view across shimmering Lough Swilly towards Knockalla Mountain on Fanad Peninsula in North Donegal. Fort Dunree, Dun Fhraoigh in Irish means, “Fort of the Heather” and indicates that this site has been an important defensive site down through history. Today however, its stunning natural beauty and abundant wildlife, some of which is unique to the area, attract many visitors from all over the world.

This treasured beauty spot in the Inishowen Peninsula is my gym, my leisure centre, my spiritual centre, my time out centre, my family fun day out destination. It’s a place of peace and serenity, of beauty and blessing, a place I have spent many enjoyable hours and I haven’t even mentioned the beautiful and secluded Crummies Bay that lies at its feet. The sheer natural beauty surrounding me throughout the Inishowen Peninsula makes Inishowen a very special place to live, a place I am proud to call home.

16 thoughts on “Home in the Inishowen Peninsula

  1. Brigitte says:

    Very beautiful and inspiring!

  2. Collette says:

    Beautiful!!! xoxo

  3. emeralds82 says:

    Great blog Aileen. Thanks for dropping in on mind. Looking forward to reading your posts!!

  4. Ah Ireland! I can’t wait to see it firsthand. 🙂

  5. ailialana says:

    I was thinking about you this morning when I pulled up the blinds…You’re going to love it…remember to let me know your schedule and plans…where you are flying into etc..Littly Missy can’t wait to meet you…She said to me…”and Mammy, when I send messages to my Moshie Monster friends will they come out of my computer and see me too?”

  6. Awwww, how cute! I have been meaning to send you flight info but I haven’t had it myself. I’ve been needing to send it to API (the program I’m doing the study abroad with), but I haven’t been home in a little over a week and a half. However, I’ll see my mom in a few days, and she said that she’d hopefully be able to pull everything up. So when we’re able to do that, I’ll send you the info. And that it so cute about what Little Missy said. I truthfully can’t stop smiling. How cute!!! 🙂

  7. ailialana says:

    Thank you Collette…We’ll take a walk when you get here ( Note… big gigantic hint!)

    Sent from my iPhone

  8. pharphelonus says:

    Wow. Beautiful place, and what a wonderland of sensory thrillers, too. A place where the mind goes to rest, or to come alive, and where the heart is always at peace. Lovely.

  9. ailialana says:

    Yes and where the heart is. Thank you for visiting.

  10. Heart of the matter!

  11. Jeannie says:

    The picture is simply stunning! I’m thinking your spirit runs free in such beauty 🙂

  12. ailialana says:

    Yes, Inishowen in all it’s glory!

  13. ailialana says:

    Jeannie, I wake up every morning and think I am on holiday. It’s a wonderful feeling. And of course, I know, Colorado has its beauty too…

  14. magnumlady says:

    It looks like a beautiful place.

  15. springingtiger says:

    It looks wonderful, my family are from Bangor (long time since I’ve been there), I love the sea.

Leave a Reply

