Everything in its own time…including me!

The gnomon is the triangular blade in this sundial
Image via Wikipedia

I’m cheating a little here. The following post was first published in the Inishowen Independent on Thursday 20th January 2012. When you read it you will know why I am cheating but the short answer is my Haitus is over.  Instead of writing a new post I have been doing a spot of decorating round here.  I also have a lot of blogs to catch up on when the time is right. Speaking of time…

Everything in its own time…including me!

It’s hard to believe we are into the second half of January already and I’m still on a ‘go slow’ from Christmas. It’s not that I haven’t been catching up on things, I have but not by choice. I’m not entirely sure how it happened but everything seemed to need renewed all at once, the passports, the driving license, car documentation, my body…well, it needed a bit of a check up, as did my teeth, and a whole load of other essential and personal stuff that has left me running from pillar to post looking signatures, photographs, Garda approval and loads of angel’s blessings. Forget about New Year’s resolutions and the ‘going to get fitter, thinner, read more books’ mantra, I have been on a rampage trying to convince everyone that I am alive, legal and licensed!

But in every other part of my existence I have been on a go slow. It’s the stillness of January that calms me as the winter yawns and sighs in the quietness of nature for everything to rebirth and burst into life again. I love the silence, the skinny arms of the trees outstretched and naked, offering it all up for a spring birth. It’s not time yet, though nature can get a little disoriented too, especially when the weather is mild as it has been in recent times, either blooming too early or blooming too late. I suppose you could say I’m blooming late in January. I haven’t got anything done that I would consider constructive or leading me closer to my dreams for the coming year. All I have done is gathered proof to all in sundry that I am alive and able.

In between times I have had some quiet contemplation in the stillness of nature that beckons me with open arms to wait patiently for warmer days. Something inside is pushing me on, wanting me to get on with it. This mild frustration with the mundane things that we all have to do from time to time can create a little impatience but I do believe that everything has a time, a season, as outlined in the book of Ecclesiastes which was the inspiration for the international hit Turn Turn Turn by the Byrds in 1965,

“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, a time to reap that which is planted;

A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together;

A time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

A time to rend, and a time to sow; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.”
In other wards there is an appropriate time for everything. So if it is not happening for you, don’t worry, when the time is right it will. Like the winter’s thaw, we all must learn to be patient and wait.

I’ll be back posting soon. In the meantime check in at The Bright Side Column to view an archive of other columns.

10 thoughts on “Everything in its own time…including me!

  1. kewsmith says:

    So glad you’re back. I’ve been in a January funk and also can’t believe the month is almost gone. Beautiful post.

  2. ailialana says:

    Thanks for the welcome back. Hope to be hit with a bolt of inpiration now 🙂

  3. smjones123 says:

    Funny that your posting today is ultimately about patience. After posting my ‘A Rose Beyond All Measure’ post yesterday, I sat impatiently, waiting for reactions. By day’s end, I was impatient with what sometimes feels like slow progress in writing, in job searching and in moving on in life in general. And then the lyrics… “to every thing, there is a season.” I know that to be true, but it seems I’m perpetually stuck in the ‘off-season.’ My mantra for the year was to ‘Believe.’ Suppose I’ll have to add ‘Patience’ back into the mix as well! 🙂

  4. Missed your beautiful words. Glad you are back! I hope the book is coming along well.

  5. “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven’ So very true. But if only we could become conscious of the purpose, we would move into a timeless state, aligned with our energy and effortlessly succeed. The lightness of the moment!

    Cheers

    Shakti

  6. ailialana says:

    Shakti Thanks for your comment. I have some thoughts on this which you have now inspired me to turn into a blog post…soon. Be well.
    Aileen

  7. ailialana says:

    Thank you so much. I have missed my fellow bloggers too and your wonderful blog which I still have to catch up on. The book will be a slow birth but that’s okay..all in it own time..it is getting my attention thought along with a few other writing projects. Thank you for your wonderful support and for reading.

  8. ailialana says:

    lolll. I think we all get a tad frustrated at times. Follow your passion, trust and divine timing will do the rest for you.Keep smiling :0

  9. Brigitte says:

    Ailialana,
    What an inspiring post! Thank you. Your website is poetic and inspiring as well — such feel-good and positive energy here. I enjoyed reading and the passage above is one of my favorites as well! Look forward to more of your wonderful prose!

  10. ailialana says:

    Thanks Brigitte. Your comment is encouraging.

Leave a Reply

